Skip navigation

Whom do I go to when I want to listen to mesmerizing vocals, beats and lyrics? No one else except Roland Kent Lavoie, better known by his stage name viz. Lobo comes to my mind. In my observation over the past few years, I have noticed that a very handful of my friends knew who Lobo was. I was a bit disappointed, acknowledging that a man like Lobo, who had a voice to die for, was quite unheard of. The lyrics of his songs are out of this world, the rhythm and beats are soft and subtle (Don’t except too much bass in these songs). Among many of his hits such as “Me And You And A Dog Named Boo“, “Goodbye Is Just Another Word”, “Don’t Expect Me To Be Your Friend“, my personal favorite is “I’d Love You To Want Me“, which I’ll be reviewing today. So lets get to it.

History: “I’d Love You To Want Me” is a song from Lobo’s 1972 album “Of A Simple Man”. It was release as a single in the fall of 1972. The song peaked at the Number two position on the Billboard’s Hot 100 chart for two weeks. It was denied the top position by Johnny Nash‘s hit song, “I Can See Clearly Now“. Not surprisingly, it didn’t perform too well when released in the UK. Fortunately, Lobo re-released the song again in 1974 and it hit bull’s-eye this time, skyrocketing the song to a  commendable Number 4 position. It also topped in Austria, Germany and Canada. There is only one version of this song viz. the 4 Minute 4 Second Album Version. [Source : Wikipedia]


Review: Lobo starts with the vocals and the acoustic guitar from the start itself. The acoustic guitar is a superb touch to the song. Don’t expect anything fancy here. The song is simple, but extremely charismatic. You’ll fall for it as soon as the song starts, because of the sheer brilliance of Lobo’s vocals. If not, then the beats and the rhythm surely will.The beats merge into the song at 00:30, and stay soft and subtle till the very end. Another extremely alluring part of this song is it’s chorus (The first one starts at 00:53). The acoustic guitar and the beats merge very nicely. The lyrics of the song are totally mesmerizing. The song is VERY infectious, and has it’s own aura, spreading love and happiness all around. The second chorus starts at 01:43, and it sounds even better than the previous one, simply because of the fact that there are some extremely soft “Oooh’s” and “Aaah’s” added to it. The vocals and the tune of the song keep you hooked until the end. The instrumentals begin at 03:34, signalling the end of the song. It slowly fades OUT of your ears, but gradually fades INTO your heart. Believe me guys, this is one song you DON’T want to miss!

Rating: 10/10. Nothing more to add. Listen to the song and enjoy! I’m sure you’ll love it! Die hard romantics, BEWARE. You’ll find yourself getting a little TOO lost in the song!

Lyrics for “I’d Love You To Want Me” : http://artists.letssingit.com/lobo-lyrics-id-love-you-to-want-me-lnxvss6

Download link for “I’d Love You To Want Me” : http://beemp3.com/download.php?file=10083526&song=I%27d+Love+You+To+Want+Me

Album Art

“I’d Love You To Want Me” is a song from the album “Of A Simple Man”

4 Comments

  1. Oh – you’re really bringing back memories with this! I’d all but forgotten about Lobo – might have to go into iTunes now 🙂


Leave a Reply

